No place I’d rather be

I’m not one for gardening, but I do understand that one cannot count on a plant thriving when it has been moved from one garden to another. In a sense, I feel like my family has been replanted from a pot to a forest. It is here, in the lush greenery of friends, community and actually a neighbourhood of opulence that my heart is being tested.

Nicholas, Vincent and I have a new home in a quaint but spacious 2 bedroom cottage in Durbanville. My dear son literally screamed when he saw the back yard! It’s such a blessing to live here, and God is surrounding us with new community daily. We’ve been regularly attending services at Doxa Deo Langeberg and have just recently joined a small group, it seems that we’re settling in well. Vincent is getting busier and more curious every day and has even started walking! (oh boy!).
I must admit that in the midst of all these blessings, I remain grateful but not always faithful. I am realising that drawing near to God in the desert is easier than understanding my true dependence on Him in the years of plenty. My lazy heart is drawn to slouching on the couch or staying a few minutes longer in bed, but when I do get up and spend time with Jesus, I come back to realising just that even despite my distracted state of mind and my weary body – God is doing a greater work than I realise. My heart longs for the day when all of me will echo the lyrics in that song by Jess Glynne – “When I am with You there’s no place I’d rather be”. The Bible version I believe, can be found in Psalm 27:4- “One thing I ask from the LORD, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple.”IMG_20150822_163921

Prayer requests:
• Pray that we remain captivated by Jesus and walk in obedience to His voice
• Pray that we chose to hear the Holy Spirit as we raise our cute but sometimes wilful toddler
• Pray for our ministry responsibilities – as I serve with the student-led movement team in the Western Cape and Nicholas serves with the Digital Strategy – that we will serve joyfully but keep focused on the boundaries God wants us to maintain

Pravani

Leave a Reply

