Prayer for Stellenbosch

I am sitting with a challenge and I need your prayers in this regard. On the University of Stellenbosch my team and I are having a tough time reaching white students. Of course a big part of it is Afrikaans, but overall it is harder to reach white students. The big reason is that they are over-churched.

Over-churched? What does that mean? They sit in a church service Sunday after Sunday, but God’s word is not piercing their heart. Monday to Saturday they look like the rest of the world – swearing, drinking like there is no tomorrow, sleeping around… and then on Sunday sitting in church, looking their best.

I came to God with this challenge in the back of my mind and He gave me the following scripture:

Ezekiel 3:4-10

New Living Translation (NLT)

Then he said, “Son of man, go to the people of Israel and give them my messages. I am not sending you to a foreign people whose language you cannot understand. No, I am not sending you to people with strange and difficult speech. If I did, they would listen! But the people of Israel won’t listen to you any more than they listen to me! For the whole lot of them are hard-hearted and stubborn. But look, I have made you as obstinate and hard-hearted as they are.I have made your forehead as hard as the hardest rock! So don’t be afraid of them or fear their angry looks, even though they are rebels.”

10 Then he added, “Son of man, let all my words sink deep into your own heart first. Listen to them carefully for yourself.

After reading this I was encouraged and hopeful. Please pray with me that God will strengthen and encourage me and the team that I am working with on Stellenbosch University. I praise God for what He is doing in the other students and for what He is going to do in this regard.

Have a blessed day,

Nicholas

Leave a Reply

