Pravani’s first blog entry – Just enough light for the step I’m on…

This is the title of a book by the prayer warrior Stormie Omartian and I cannot help but quote it to describe how I feel about 2012. 2011 was the year of me taking the scary jump into the role of being the national team leader for Student-led Movements South Africa (SLMSA). This year, I’m making the scary jump of, “I have just a little more experience”. Having said that, God has taken us as a national ministry miles away from where we were as SLMSA in 2011. Our team has grown from just a handful of staff (4 including me), to:  2 new staff applicants, 7 interns (young people taking a gap year after campus to serve with CCC), 12 Americans who have come to serve for a year (which we call a STINT) and a generous sprinkling of campuses that are sprouting long-awaited fruit! But even with all this done, there is still much to do. I’m very humbled knowing that I cant see 10 years ahead, I haven’t managed to strategize it down to the last detail and I cannot predict who will do what or come from where, but I know this, that God is and will give me just enough light to take the next step. A few weeks ago, I read a quote by Antone de Saint Exupery that I had heard a while back but it had not touched my heart in the way it has now. It says:

“If you want to build a ship, don’t drum up the men to gather wood, divide the work, and give orders. Instead teach them to yearn for the vast endless sea.”

That’s one of my key goals this year, to show my team how to yearn for the vast endless sea – the harvest of young people for God’s kingdom. Friends, I covet your prayers as this cant be done by the power of one person, just one God.

Pravani Kelderman

Leave a Reply

